If you’re under 18, California law states that in order to take a driving test you must have completed both driver education and driver training, practiced with parents or someone over the age of 25 for 50 hours behind the wheel, held your permit for 6 months and be 16 years of age. Driver training consist of 6 full hours of behind the wheel and must be conducted by a credential driver training teacher or a California state licensed driving instructor.
Safestway Driving School gives training in increments of 2 hours lessons for 3 sessions. We will pick you up at home, work, or school, and take you back after your lesson at no extra charge. Lessons are available 7 days a week from 9 am to 9 pm. Safestway Driving School accepts Visa, Master card, American Express and Discover card. If paying by check it must be made out to Safestway Driving School. All new and late model cars used for training are insured for 1 million dollars, dual controlled, air conditioned, and impeccably maintained.
After completing driver Education, students can present themselves to the DMV (Appointment Required) and take the written test in order to acquire the learners permit.
Once you have passed the written test call our office 1-800-380-3181 to schedule your driving lessons. Your permit will be signed by the instructor after the first lesson and then you can start the 50 hours of practice with your parents.
*Cancellation Policy: Please note that any cancellation must be made a full 24 hours prior to the beginning of the scheduled appointment. Any cancellation that does not meet this criteria will result in a fee of 1/2 the lesson that is being cancelled.